NPR Review of Twilight — Brilliant Analysis

Original Post by: R. Joy

Linda Holmes has written an extremely perfect review of the new Twilight movie. I have not seen the movie, but I have read the book (I sadly have read all the books, which I would regret terribly except that it allows me to legitimately complain about them), and her analysis is SPOT ON, in my opinion.

I would like to point you to the last three paragraphs of the review in particular, wherein she rips the movie a new one concerning the glorification of abusive, stalkerish relationships, and I love her for it.

Your thoughts?

My Response:

I must admit to never having read any of the books. I have a friend that read the first few books when the first movie came out; to date she has read all the books and seen all the movies. I willing watched the first movie and was forced to see the second. I have no desire to see or read anymore of these. A few of my friends have already told me about what the remainder of the storyline is anyway. After reading the article you posted and from the information from my friends I truly am glad that I have not read these books. It is good to know that from several posts that this article is spot on. I find it hard to believe that this has been allowed as a young adult book. It almost seems like the author is telling teenage girls that this sort of thing is alright in a relationship. This article is a brilliant analysis and I wish more people would pay attention to the fact this series should not be for teens.

Categories: Forum Reply | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

